Another Hairbrained Idea


With warm weather and swimsuit season just around the corner, I have been a little bit more motivated than usual to get myself into a workout routine. Actually, getting into a routine is not my problem.  Staying in the routine is. I enjoy fitness; it’s just that if there is a more tempting offer on the table, I will choose that offer over my workout. Willpower is not one of my stronger traits. Oh yes, and the other thing holding me back is/are my two children under the age of three that need tending to.  So between my parental responsibilities and my lack of willpower, workouts have been low on the priority list in the last couple of years.

Jane Fonda

So, I’ve been thinking about what could get me out of the house and back into a groove. My idea was …wait for itJazzercise!  Well, actually it wasn’t an idea so much as it was an advertisement that I saw with Cheryl Burke in it — one of the professionals from the TV show, Dancing with the Stars. I think I like Cheryl.  I know I like dancing.  Apparently, Jazzercise is a fusion of jazz dance, resistance training, Pilates, yoga, and kickboxing. That’s what the website says, anyway. But, I really am having a hard time overcoming the visual I get in my head when I think of the word Jazzercise.  All I can picture are these women from the 1980s wearing high-cut leotards, sweat bands and leg warmers. As a child, I used to go with my mom to her exercise classes after my little sister circa 1977. I feel like that when I picture myself going to a Jazzercise class. It’s very Jane Fonda.

The more I think about it, the more I am convinced that I should try to suspend my preconceived notions for just one trial class and give it a shot.  If it is more like Dancing with the Stars and less like a Fonda workout, I may even stick with it.

Expect more posts about this as my new research project. Or, it could just end up being one big hilarious mistake. If anyone loves or hates Jazzercise, I would love to know about what I am getting myself into.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Moms, Parenting, Raising children and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Hairbrained Idea

  1. Abbe says:

    Check out a Zumba class – Latin-inspired dance and, depending on the teacher, very high energy. I think you’ll like it.

  2. I’ve never jazzercised so I’ve got no opinion and will be looking forward to yours!

  3. Pingback: Deal Grater » Two Months of Unlimited Jazzercise Classes

  4. I have never jazzercised but you crack me up with your attitude and I want to save that JF photo for my screensaver! I used to go with my Mum to her “Fitness Through Dance” classes back in the early 80s. She taught them. It was VERY Jane Fonda. I wore leg warmers. I do not have a photo 😉

    hugs
    Heather

Leave a Reply

