I Can’t Remember the Last Time I Wasn’t at Least Kind of Tired


Remember the days before you had kids?  You would come home from work, change clothes and hit the gym. Or, maybe you got a run in earlier that morning, so you indulged in a little happy hour after work with your friends. Then, you just came home, had a snack or watched TV. The most important thing you had to remember was to set your alarm or pick-up the dry cleaning.

I distinctly remember the moment in time when I realized that my daily priorities had changed forever. My Biz e-Baby1 was about three months old and I was drying her off after a bath.  I was still in my pressed slacks and white oxford that I had worn to work. The shirt had milk stains and blood on it from my nursing bra that I would probably never get out. I was kneeling on the tile floor in my dry-clean only pants next to some yellowish green poop and a totally destroyed white onesie. My kid had just had a major blow-out.  (For all the non-moms reading this, that is not like a Brazilian straightening hair treatment.)

And, that was it.  That was the moment. From that point forward, I realized that no longer would I be toning my thighs on the elliptical after work, nor would I be changing into my comfy clothes and veggin out on the couch with my night all to myself. Since then, I have been kind of tired.

Nickname: " The Sleep Depriver"

But, it was ok, because the beautiful, innocent blue eyes that stared back at me made it worthwhile.  (And, I joined the YMCA with a childcare center.)

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Bedtime, Blogs, Family, Freshly Pressed, Humor, Moms, Parenting, Raising children and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Can’t Remember the Last Time I Wasn’t at Least Kind of Tired

  1. The ‘sleep depriver’ is so cute! Doesn’t it make it all worthwhile though? These are your memories and kids grow so fast. Mine are 23 and 21 now and I’ve got my life back, infact I’ve got too much life – they used to give me reasons to be busy and nowadays they don’t need me, not in the same way at least and my role as mother has changed and yours will too in due course.
    These are precious moments indeed, cherish them even if you have got poop on your pants….

  2. Richelle, I totally understand this feeling!! That is all.

Leave a Reply

