Is This Spring Fever or a Margarita Hangover?


Margarita

Image via Wikipedia

There is just something about coming off a winter thaw that gets people in the Midwest jazzed up. Mix a little sun, a change in daylight savings time and some flowers blooming together, and all the corn-fed white boys are downright ready to hit the beach! One of the funniest things I find about living in a seasonal climate is that as soon as the thermometer breaks 60 degrees, you’ll see men and women alike busting out their shorts or flip flops. In college, whenever the weather hovered in the 50s for more than two weeks, you’d see guys out on campus throwing Frisbee with their new puppies. (So many puppies are wasted on college men.)

I, on the other hand, (having lived six years in Florida) am still wearing my gloves and parka until at least 75 degrees, and have tan lines where my scarf wraps my neck. Scantily clad clothing isn’t my thing unless I am somewhere near the latitude of the equator.  I get too cold. But, what I do like when spring makes its appearance, is a nice frozen Margarita. It’s my spring fever cure all. Nothing says party like a Margarita – just don’t use the cheap tequila because you’ll have a hangover.

Here’s some great spring recipes for margaritas to get you in the mood. (If you can’t find a babysitter for your spring fiesta, just make a virgin drink for them and bask in the sun out on your porch.) Trust me, you’ll still feel good.

Apricot Margarita

1 1/2 cup fresh apricots, halved and pitted (or 16-oz. can juice-packed, unpeeled apricot halves, drained)
1/2 cup tequila
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup apricot nectar
About 3 cups ice cubes

Combine apricot halves, tequila, sugar, lime juice and apricot nectar in a blender; cover and blend until smooth. With blender running, add ice cubes, blending until slushy. Makes 4 Margaritas.

Creamcicle Margarita

1 oz. margarita mix  
3 oz. orange juice
1 1/2 oz. gold Tequila
1 scoop vanilla ice cream
6 oz. ice

Blend all ingredients until slushy.

Key West Margarita

1 1/2 oz tequila
1 oz melon liqueur
1 oz Pina colada mix
1/2 oz lime juice
1/2 oz orange juice
1 dash grenadine
1/2 cup crushed ice

Mix all in blender. Blend at slow speed until smooth and pour into a glass.

Frozen Margarita

12 oz frozen limeade concentrate, thawed 
1 1/2 cups tequila
1/2 cup Triple Sec
Ice cubes
Lime wedges
Coarse salt
Lime wedges, for garnish

Combine half of each of the first 4 ingredients in container of an electric blender. Process 30 seconds. Gradually add enough ice cubes to bring mixture to 3 1/2 cup level; blend until smooth. If you want to freeze for later use, pour mixture into a large freezer container. Repeat procedure with remaining half of ingredients. Cover tightly and freeze up to 1 month.

To serve, If frozen, thaw 20 minutes or until mixture becomes slushy. Rub rims of cocktail glasses with lime wedge. Place salt in saucer; spin rim of each glass in salt. Pour beverage into prepared glasses. Garnish, if desired. Serve immediately. Yields about 7 cups.

*If you liked these, you can find tons of other cool margarita ideas at http://www.margaritatexas.com

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Moms, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is This Spring Fever or a Margarita Hangover?

  1. nuggetsandpearls says:

    I’m with you on this one, you made me smile as ever. Today it’s been glorious weather and I went out into town with my winter parka coat on, leggings and boots yet everyone around me was in strappy tops or shorts. I felt a little over-dressed but I don’t like being cold and so didn’t care what I looked like. However it was warmer than I thought and I was melting by the time I got home!
    Never tried the drinks but they sound interesting and nice. Cheers!

  2. Consider yourself advised — or warned. Never never never live in the Pacific Northwest. You’d hate it, forever bundled up in layers, coats, scarves and gloves beneath cold gray cloudy/drizzly/rainy conditions 9-10 months of the year and going online to remember what the sun looks like. No, most definitely stay in Florida with a margarita! Or three.

Leave a Reply

