On the anniversary of my dad’s death


A friend left me a message today.  She wanted to let me know that she was thinking of me on the anniversary of my dad’s death. Do you know that I almost had forgotten? I didn’t make mention of it when I saw my mom today and neither did she.  Some things we don’t talk about.

When you lose a parent, it’s never easy.  It doesn’t matter if that parent was sick or died out of the blue.  It doesn’t matter if you were close or if you hadn’t spoken in years.  You still lost the person that brought you into this world. They will never be in this life again.

Like many adults, I was given a new perspective of what parenthood is when I had children of my own. When you become a parent, you may carry on traditions that you cherished as a child. Or, you may swear that you will never make the same mistakes your parents made. Most of all, you realize that the love you can feel for another human being can be so strong that you want give all of yourself for them — for that baby of yours. You’d give your life.

I got online this evening to look for a poem on parenthood.  I wasn’t sure what I was looking for.  I thought a nice poem may serve as my post for this evening. As soon as I landed on the site “Where The Butterflies Go,” I was drawn in. What a beautiful name. The first poem I read When I finally make starlight had to be the poem I chose to share. Thank you to the author, Heather Grace Stewart, for finding the words that few of us have.  And, thank you to my friend for keeping me in her thoughts.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the anniversary of my dad’s death

  1. How lovely and touching to be remembered on a day of significance.

  2. Hi!

    You’ve just reminded me why I write and SHARE my poetry. So many writers say to me, why do you give away so much of your poetry for free?

    I think your father just answered that question. I have goosebumps right now.

    I’ve been having a challenging week work-wise. Thanks for reminding me to keep doing what I do, writing poetry, because I’m touching people I don’t even know.

    I’m sorry you miss your Dad so much but I’m so glad you shared your story with everyone. (By the way, I found this blog post accidentally. I have just re-joined Facebook (groan, I just missed so many friends!) after a five-month absence, and was checking to see if my Canadian Poet page is Google-able yet. It is. I’d love you to join me there!)

    Bless you and yours, and you can bet I’m subscribing to your blog…
    Heather Grace Stewart

    • bizemom says:

      Some things are just meant to be sometimes. The universe works in mysterious ways. Looks like we helped each other out! Thanks for dropping by and sharing your feedback — as well as your writing! All the best, Richelle

Leave a Reply

