How Do You Do It All?


I’ve had several people over the last couple of months comment on my blog, on Facebook or in person, “I don’t see how you have time to do it all.” It’s no secret – I am busy.  But, who isn’t?  It just takes some time management, like anything else. Also, my kids are still fairly young.  They haven’t gotten into the stage of music lessons or after school sports and that sort of thing.  They still pretty much do what I tell them to do. I imagine once they do get involved on those things, and have a mind of their own, my routine will have to change. I am not looking forward to that time. Hopefully, I can keep them brainwashed forever.  What mommy wants is best… what mommy wants is best… say it with me.

Seriously speaking, having all of those people say the same thing got me thinking. Moms learn from each other.  We find out where the best playgrounds are, where the best preschools are, where the best libraries and free activities are, by learning and talking to each other.  So, maybe if I share my routine with other moms, it will help them.  Better yet, maybe they will be able to give me suggestions of what I could do differently.  So this post is about what my typical week looks like.  I hope it can bring out the best in all of us. Here’s my balancing act:

Mondays / Wednesdays/Fridays:

6:30 a.m.  – Wake up, shower,  get dressed, feed dogs.

7:30 a.m. – In-home daycare arrives (a.k.a. grandma). Kids usually wake up around this time. If they get up earlier, I am usually running late.

8:15 a.m. – 5:15 p.m. – Work at the office

6:00 p.m. – Arrive home, cook dinner, feed dogs.

7:00 p.m. – Bath time

7:30 p.m. – Kids TV time and snack.  I wash dirty dishes from dinner.

8:00 p.m. – Bedtime – this is occasionally a drawn out process depending on whether or not my husband is home to help.

9:00 p.m. – Throw in a load of laundry. Catch up on blogs, Twitter parties and Facebook

10:00 p.m. – Me time or (couple time) with TV. We watch The Bachelor or Dancing with the Stars, if I get my way. I am thankful my husband will compromise and watch Glee.

12 midnight – 1 p.m.  Bedtime (depending on laundry or how good the wine is.)

Tuesdays / Thursdays

6:00 a.m.  – Wake up, shower,  get dressed, feed dogs. My husband helps get the kids breakfast before we head out the door.

7:15 a.m. – Take kids to preschool. Have heart-wrenching goodbyes.

8:15 a.m. – 5:15 p.m. – Work at the office

5:45 p.m. Pick up kids from preschool

(Everything else is pretty much the same as the rest of the week.) Thursday TV requires DVR so that I can catch Outsourced and Jersey Shore.  My guilty pleasures…

Saturdays

7:30 – ish – Kids wake me up. Attempt to make coffee.

9:30 a.m. – Make coffee;  rarely take first sip until later.

10:30 –ish – Warm up cold coffee in microwave. Start cleaning around the house or skip it and go somewhere fun!

12:30 p.m. – Make lunch

1:15 p.m. – Kids nap time (I try to go to the grocery while the kids sleep, if my husband is home.  If he is working, I have to go after they wake up.)

  • Writing time is any time the kids are sleeping.  I have been working on another book, but also do freelance gigs during nap time.  Thank heaven for nap time.
  • The dogs get their monthly bath during nap time.
  • The mail gets sorted during nap time.

3:30 p.m. – Kids wake up, we play, go to the park or hit the grocery.

5:30 p.m. – Dinner time and evening routine follows as usual.

Sundays

(* More recently we have not been going to church on Sundays – sinners that we are – because our restaurant is open and the hubby works. However, when we did go, we would be there from 10:15 a.m. until about 12:30 p.m.)

7:30 – ish – Kids wake me up. Do the normal 3- hour coffee-making thing.

10:30 –ish – Laundry (or make up for cleaning skipped previous day)

12:30 p.m. – Make lunch

1:15 p.m. – Kids nap time / Blog writing time

  • I try to write 2-3 blog posts in a 2 hours period every Sunday because I can schedule them in advance for the week. This post was written at nap time!
  • I usually throw some chicken in the oven and cook in advance for the week.

3:30 p.m. – Kids wake up, we usually go shopping or for a visit to grandma’s. I tend to go through my coupons on Sunday afternoons around this time (after the paper has been read.)

5:30 p.m. – Dinner time and evening routine follows as usual.

Evening routine is the same… although I try to squeeze in some TV with Supernanny playbacks on my DVR.  I consider it, in-home consulting for parents.  Keeps my skills sharp.

9:00 p.m. – Paint my nails! (Sadly, my mani and pedi are self-provided. “getting them done” just takes too long.)

This life isn’t glamorous but it is a good one. We don’t  always have the benefit of our schedule being followed as it should, and my husband’s and my job have an impact on that from week to week. 

I have also been doing story readings to promote my children’s book on some evenings and weekends at local libraries and schools, so we either get a babysitter, or adjust our split-shift parenting as needed to make it work.

You will notice that I have given up some things that other people may consider very important to make my schedule work — we no longer have a cleaning service.  That perk was wonderful at times – ya know — to come home to a clean house. But I found myself cleaning before the cleaning lady arrived, so it was sort of a waste of money and time. (I also found a couple pairs of shoes missing, so it made me wonder.)

You will notice I don’t go to the gym.  I wish I did.  When I get the urge, I take care of that during my lunch hour at work, but it isn’t a frequent occurence.

Date nights with my husband are also rare. That is something we  have to carve out a special time and date for but it doesn’t happen on a weekly basis.  So, as you can see, there are trade-offs.  I use my free time to write and work on my side interests, instead of getting fit or dining out.

However, I do think that it is important for my sanity (and the children’s) to have as much structure and routine as we can. Without it, I very well could be a basket case.

How do you keep it all together?

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Beauty, Bedtime, Blogs, Books, Cleaning, Family, Humor, Marriage, Moms, Parenting, Pets, Raising children, Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Do You Do It All?

  1. Phew! I was exhausted just reading this and I still don’t know how you find the time to construct such fantastic blogs. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

