Between a Rut and a Groove


A successful  businessman once said, “The only difference between a rut and a groove is how long you’ve been in it.” That man was Clay Mathile, the founder of The Iams Company and native of my hometown, Dayton, Ohio.

He was right. And, those words are powerful.

Rut or Groove?

Throughout life you go through phases.  You go though highs and lows. Sometimes, the challenges and obstacles are great. And, I don’t mean in a good way. Your ruts and grooves are a matter of time – some shorter or longer than you’d like.

Marriage is like that.  Parenting is like that.

But when you consider the ruts in your life, they are necessary in order to get into the groove. They are temporary.

I have known friends that have divorced because their marriage was in a rut.  Unfortunately, those folks never found their groove.

I have known friends that have had trouble conceiving, yet they longed for a baby.  The rut they were in was not their choice.  However, month after month when they tried and hoped and prayed that this would be their time, it didn’t come.

So how do you get into the groove?  That’s the million dollar question.

I suspect it’s a matter of practice, patience and experience. I can only draw that conclusion from my own life experiences.  But, more times than not, either practice, patience, or experience is what helped me to overcome whatever it was that I was faced with. My ruts eventually became a little more worn and a little more broken in.  Eventually, they became my grooves– to the point where they were smooth.

If you looked back on your life and remembered the time when you were playing the field, living the single life and on your own … was that a rut or a groove?

What about the time when you first got married and found out living with someone after the honeymoon may require more than you anticipated…was the a rut or a groove?

How about when you brought your baby home from the hospital, and were tired beyond belief, but stayed awake just to watch their chest rise and fall…was that a rut or a groove?

The answer probably depends on your perspective.

Life will always put you in unfamiliar situations in order to stretch and grow as a person, it’s up to you to find your own groove and pave your own way.

The next time you feel down or think you are in a rut, perhaps you can cheer yourself up in knowing that the groove can’t be far away. Or, maybe you are already in it.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Family, Freshly Pressed, Marriage, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Between a Rut and a Groove

  1. Chantelle says:

    This is so wise.
    I think it’s partly a person’s outlook that determines the rut vs. groove factor. I tell my daughters they need to CHOOSE to be happy. It’s not a right, it’s a state of mind.
    Whenever my hubby and I have an argument I make a point to hug him and tell him I love his stupid face.

  2. Ironic Mom says:

    I think the worst part of being in a rut are when you feel like the wheels are spinning or (worse) the car stalls. But, I tend to (a) get outside, (b) breathe, (c) be thankful for small things. If that doesn’t work, I curl up in a ball and start rocking… 😉

  3. Stephanie says:

    Great post Richelle….and so true. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

