Three Sight Impaired Mice and Other PC Nursery Rhymes


Cover of a 1904 adaptation of Humpty Dumpty by...

Image via Wikipedia

You know times have changed when the Three Blind Mice are no longer sight impaired. Call me old fashioned, but I just don’t see them getting Lasik surgery. Yet, my children received a Mother Goose book recently that has turned generations of treasured nursery rhymes into diluted, politically correct versions of their former selves.

Three young mice, three young mice

See how they run, see how they run

They all ran after the poor farmer’s wife

Who has been afraid of mice all her life

Did you ever think you’d see such a sight

As three young mice that create such a fright?

I’m not sure what else happens next because that’s where this little rhyme ends. But, I’d guess she doesn’t chop their tails off with a carving knife.

It’s not just this Mother Goose rhyme which has been censored and edited. Other nursery rhymes have also been toned down because the original verses were either offensive to certain ethnicities or too violent.

For instance, Baa Baa Black Sheep isn’t black anymore. So as not to discriminate, the sheep are rainbow colored.

Humpty Dumpty escapes a shattering death fall and lives to sit on the wall another day.

Are we really taking ourselves that seriously as a society? How sensitive do you need to be in order to misconstrue something as innocent as a children’s nursery rhyme?

Next thing you know, Pussy-cat, Pussy-cat Where Have You Been will be deemed vulgar.

Vent amongst yourselves…

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Three Sight Impaired Mice and Other PC Nursery Rhymes

  1. Marcia says:

    Yep, now you mention it, ‘Pussy-cat, Pussy-cat..’ does sound like it’s about a lady of the night! I do get a bit fed up of watching what I say (or write) because of all this PC crap, it’s gone too far in my opinion. Most of us apply common sense in everyday situations and are respectful to everyone around us, it’s only the odd few who really mean to upset or discriminate. We might as well all walk around wrapped in cotton wool incase someone hurts us and tape our mouths up incase we hurt them. Crazy!

  2. Chantelle says:

    Oh wow. This post got me so riled up! You are so right. People take themselves way too seriously these days.
    I heard a quote once.
    I’m paraphrasing here but it went something like this: “No matter what you do there will always be someone who takes it too seriously.”

  3. I vehemently abhor the effect of political correctness on our nation’s literature, children’s books and education. There’s a movement under way to have “nigger” stricken from Mark Twain’s works and replaced with “slave” and “Injun” replaced with “Indian.” I won’t launch into the discourse that’s burning my tongue; my blood boils and my head’s ready to explode just thinking about it. Poor Samuel must be rolling over in his grave. I’ve but one question: *What the **** is wrong with people!?!?!?*

Leave a Reply

