Signs, Signs Everywhere There’s Signs


Sagittarius Symbol

Image via Wikipedia

About a month or so ago, news broke of a new astrological calendar due to a strange new little sign named Ophiuchus. I have to admit that I breathed a sigh of relief when I found out I was still a Sagittarius. I am not particularly into the whole astrology thing, but I do know what my Zodiac sign is and may read its prediction in a magazine if I happen across it. I sort of fancy myself a Sag and feel the typical characteristics represent me pretty accurately.  I have grown attached to it, if you know what I mean.

So, you can imagine my concern when I read that a 13th Zodiac sign had made its way onto the scene – Ophiuchus.  I don’t even like the name, really.  It reminds me of Morpheus from Matrix. Apparently, this sign or planetary body–whatever it is– has always been around but not acknowledged. Now, that the universe and its make up is changing, Professor Parke Kunkle of the Minnesota Planetarium Society is tossing all our beliefs (superficial as they may be) upside down and assigning a new set of dates to allow for this 13th sign. And, oh by the way, millions of people are affected my the new date ranges that fall under their Zodiac signs.  In some cases, it’s like a month off. So all you Libras out there, you may actually be Virgos. At least that is what I will have to tell my daughter when she is older.

“Honey, the first three years of your life, you were a Libra.  But, then you became a Virgo.”

How would you like to wake up one day and find out that every horoscope you’d read over the last 30-odd years wasn’t really for you?  

The last time I felt this bummed was when they told us that Pluto was no longer a planet. After memorizing the planets in order and creating multiple dioramas of the solar system, my poor little micro planet Pluto was dethroned. How dare they?

So if you are ready to have all your hopes and dreams dashed with this newfangled theory, here are the 13 signs and the dates that fall under them:

Ophiuchus Nov 30 – Dec 17

Sagittarius Dec 18 – Jan 20

Capricorn Jan 21 –  Feb 16

Aquarius Feb 17 – March 11

Pisces March 12 – April 18

Aries April 19 – May 13

Taurus May 14 – June 21

Gemini June 22 – July 20

Cancer July 21 – Aug 10

Leo Aug 11 – Sept 16

Virgo Sept 17 – Oct 30

Libra Oct 31 – Nov 23

Scorpio Nov 24 – Nov 29

And then there’s Ophiuchus. I am not sure I am ready to raise my children in a world of 13 signs. Will they change the textbooks? Isn’t 13 unlucky? I need answers.

P.S.  I just made the Sagittarius cut off. My birthday is December 18th.  Coincidence? I think not.

Related Articles

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Family, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Signs, Signs Everywhere There’s Signs

  1. Chantelle says:

    I totally blame you for getting that song in my head.
    I’ll be laying in bed later trying to sleep singing it!
    Thanks a LOT!! lol

  2. Posky says:

    Pluto will forever be a planet. A bunch of nerds can’t push around an entire solar system. They can suck an egg.

    This won’t catch on. I’ve always been a scorpio and, while skeptical of astrology from the get go, seemed to be a pretty standard scorpio. They just did this so they can sell more books. The good news is that I think it only effects very young folks and is still entirely made up.

  3. stephanie says:

    For 33 years I have been a sagittarius and it is perfect for me. How do they expect me to now consider myself libra? I don’t think this is going to work for me.

  4. Marcia says:

    Interesting blog, I’d heard about this but not done any research. I’m sticking with being a Virgo whether I am one or not. I don’t follow my horoscope, never really have but have had my chart done years ago once I discovered what time I was born – never knew because I’m adopted, however I got the information from my local hospital and that little slip of paper is worth its weight in gold to me. So I’m staying as I am, I like being a fuss-pot.

  5. I do study astrology, passionately, and IMHO this reconfiguration is bunk.

  6. Ms. A says:

    In a little state of shock right now. I have been hearing a little bit here and there about the signs changing, never paying much attention to it. I NOW realize that I am not a sag anymore. I am with you, I thought that the “characteristics”of a sag suited me as well. Ha, not anymore! Am I ready for change, lol? We’ll see!

Leave a Reply

