What’s Your Theme Song?


If you could have a theme song what would it be? Imagine you walk into a party to make a grand entrance or perhaps it’s simply a song that accompanies you as you walk down the street. I think having a theme song would just make everyone happier.  It would say a lot about a person too, without even speaking a word.

Think of how a theme song sets the stage for a T.V. show. Lots of people can hum the tune of popular T.V. show songs like the Brady Bunch, Dallas, M.A.S.H., and even American Idol. Those theme songs stick in your head because they are memorable.  They make an impression.

If you could only choose one song to represent you, what would it be? Or, maybe we don’t get to choose our theme song at all. Life may do it for us.

For instance, when I was at the hospital about to give birth to my daughter, I was rushed into surgery for an emergency c-section.  As I was being rolled into the operating room, a million thoughts were going through my head.  All I could think of was the safety of my baby as I stared at the bright, round fluorescent lights that shone down from the ceiling.

The song Tainted Love broke my concentration.

Upon entering the room where my child was about to be surgically removed from my body, the synth-pop ‘80s hit Tainted Love began playing.  True story. Whether she likes it or not, I think my daughter’s theme song is Tainted Love. She may never have a say otherwise.

Assuming that there wasn’t some one-hit wonder’s song playing when my mom brought me into the world, I think the choice is still mine. I like all genres of music.  My friends may accuse me of being partial to hip-hop music, but I think thug-life jams may not be appropriate when I walk into an office environment.  It would be killer for a dance party.  Rap definitely speaks of a good time but perhaps not the most widely understood.

I love heavy metal too, but again, I don’t want to send off the wrong vibe.  I need to pick something that speaks to a more diverse listening audience.

After some careful consideration (about 10 minutes), I think I would choose “I’m Every Woman” by Whitney Houston. (I realize Chaka Khan and Ashford & Simpson also recorded it, but I prefer Whitney’s version.) It goes without saying that Whitney’s voice is like butter. Footnote: Her recent personal life and alleged drug scandals should be kept separate from my song choice and or similarity to my own life.

I chose the song because it is smooth yet strong. It’s groovy. But, it starts out slow and unassuming. I think that’s the message I want to send.  

That song also represents female empowerment.  I have fond memories of blasting I’m Every Woman in my 1988 Chevy Beretta back in high school when my girlfriend and I would drive to the gym. It was upbeat and psyched us up to pump some iron with the meat heads at Gold’s Gym.

With that little ditty playing in the background behind me, I could really make some heads turn (in a good way.)

I can picture myself now… walking into a room…

“What’s that sound?” People would whisper looking all around to see who was the girl with the awesome theme song…the anticipation would build as they wondered, “Who could that possibly be…” and then, there I’d come into view with my theme song leading the way….

End dream sequence.

What’s your song?

P.S. If you have no idea what song I am talking about, see the girl power for yourself:

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Family, Girlfriends, Moms, Songs and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s Your Theme Song?

  1. Connie says:

    Hmm….my theme song? Something about the leaves turning or the pond emptying….I guess it’d be a country song then. 🙂 What works for an old lady? Recommendations welcome.

  2. Wow, that’s a tricky one. Very interesting post and you’ve really set me thinking. There are so many to choose from and I think it depends how I feel at the time. The best song I can think of is, ‘I Want to be Free’ by Toyah Wilcox. It sums up my character; fiesty, determined, believe in myself, rebelious, and unconventional. It’s a real ‘up yours’ type of song and that’s why I like it and have liked it since Toyah first hit the screen/charts, she’s fantastic. I love her acoustic album with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. You’ve inspired me to go and put it on now…..

  3. Gretchen says:

    So I had to think about this A LOT, I have different theme songs, the main one is Bob Marley’s 3 Little Birds…(I recently found out that the birds actually meant his 3 baby mamas). So I have another theme song for when I am having man problems..Whitney Houston’s Try it on my own or Salute…and then the strange one, I can tell my level of tipsisity (is that a word? I mean how drunk I am..), by the song I go for, it starts out with me and Miley Cirus – Party in the USA, as the night goes on (please don’t judge me), I progress to DOLLY PARTON AND KENNY ROGERS, yes many a morning I have woken up to the Gambler and Jolene playing on rotation…

  4. bizemom says:

    Now do we have to carry around a boom box with us wherever we go?

Leave a Reply

