2011 Preview – Cheers to a Year of Advances


Happy New Year Biz e-Mom’s Blog readers!

I hope you rang in 2011 with some bubbly and with those special to you. I certainly toasted on your behalf to make up for it in case you didn’t. Don’t get me wrong, I was sitting in front of my TV like any good mother but those closest to me were in bed already. (My husband works every holiday – occupational hazard.)

I gave thanks for a fast-paced, exciting 2010 filled with health, love, learning, and adventure for the Biz e-Family. I gave thanks for all those who bought my book and read my blog (you three are awesome!) I looked back and reflected on some of the year’s milestones including:

–          Biz e-Baby1 turned three years old

–          Biz e-Baby2 turned 1 year old

–          My husband fulfilled his American dream by opening his new restaurant, World Café

–          I published my first children’s book, Kangaroo’s Shoes

–          I took a new position in my company (my day job) and am excited about a new, challenging career move

–          The Biz e-Mom’s Blog was created and is going strong thanks to all of YOU.  Thanks for spreading the love.

–          We bought a new car – albeit a minivan—but I love it

–          We took a nice family vacation to South Carolina

–          Our dogs celebrated their 11th and 12th birthdays and are blessing us with their unconditional love

Then I toasted for a successful 2011 filled with new beginnings, more jobs, new friends, for the safety of my children, to selling the heck out of my book, to healthy living, to world peace and to gaining more followers (a girl can dream right?).

I read an article last week about technologies that in the last decade began slowly fading such as phone calls, faxes, and CDs. It made me feel old. I also read a different article with predictions about the great trendsetting things to keep an eye on. Among them were 3-D Printers, Holograms, DNA powered robots (using rat brains), HTML5 and do-everything-for-you cars.

en:DTM SLS-based rapid prototyping machine, Br...

Image via Wikipedia

I hope that one day I will be able to take advantage of such advances and perhaps hold a conference call via my own hologram. Wait–do you think the hologram adds 10 pounds?

Or, maybe I will be able to use a 3D printer to make my post-pregnancy saggy boobs look bigger in photos? It would be like virtual plastic surgery!

If a robot with a rat powered brain could be my live-in maid for a while, my house could be cleaned more often.  However, the missing cheese in the fridge and the tiny droppings on the floor, may be equally as annoying as the current state of my family room.  Perhaps, I will wait until they use cat DNA.  They are cleaner.

If I really could leverage this futuristic technology stuff, I would hope for a car that could drive me and my husband around town so maybe we could “do it” in the back seat after a dinner date once in a while. The Swagger-Wagon would soon be redubbed the Shag-Her Wagon. I can picture those Toyota commercials now.

For now, I am thankful that I have lived to see another year and although I am a little bummed we don’t have flying cars by now like the Jetson’s. Perhaps I will take charge of my own destiny and resolve to achieve something more manageable like losing this pesky 5-7 pounds around my mid section.

Source reference: To read more about the future of technology in PC World click here

Related Articles

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Family, Humor, Marriage, New Year, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011 Preview – Cheers to a Year of Advances

  1. Bryony says:

    Congrats on all your successes in 2010, Richelle! I hope your 2011 is even bigger!! Your posts have made my daily commute more tolerable.

  2. Happy New Year to you too! Always enjoy reading your blogs, there’s plenty food for thought here albeit a bit scarey re technology, but as ever you injected your usual sense of humour and made me smile.

Leave a Reply

