If Your Birthday is a Week Before Christmas…


My birthday is December 18th. Every year that falls exactly a week before Christmas. From an early age, I learned that having a birthday so close to the holidays had its share of disadvantages. That is because…

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, you never really get any back-to-school clothes from your mom because she will say “wait until your birthday.” If she does buy you something, she’ll tell you, “I’ll save this and give it to you for your birthday.”

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, you won’t get to bring cupcakes into grade school like the other kids because you will already be out for the holiday break.

As a result, many people will never really know when your birthday is.

Because they never really know when your birthday is, people may send you a belated card or forget it altogether. 

If your birthday is the week before Christmas, people will be so busy running around looking for holiday gifts that having to get a birthday gift in the midst of all that stress just becomes an extra inconvenience.

Inevitably, your birthday gift will have something to do with the holidays because that is what is readily available in stores – red mittens, candy cane striped scarves, Santa slippers, etc.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, you will often get the “combo gift” – meaning that you have to wait until Christmas for the big surprise, or risk opening the big surprise  on your birthday leaving nothing for you on Christmas day.

Happy Birthmas

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, your cake may be decorated with wreaths and holly. Or, it may be a fruit cake.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, your gifts will be wrapped in holiday paper.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, a lost elf may show up at your party instead of a clown.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, the DMV will be packed with people renewing their license plates or driver’s license before the end of the year, thus delaying your driving exam when you turn 16.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, your 21st may be celebrated at home with friends and family because your college is not in session again until winter semester.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, your spouse may remember to tell your kids it’s your birthday.  Then again, they may not.

If your birthday is a week before Christmas, you will eventually learn to deal with it until the next December 18th rolls around.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Birthday, Blogs, Christmas, Family, Holidays, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If Your Birthday is a Week Before Christmas…

  1. Ms. A says:

    My birthday is 2 weeks before Christmas, and I have experienced all of the above! I guess I’m used to it now, but when I have children and if their birthday falls close to Christmas you can bet that I will always make it special for them!

  2. Aw, poor you! My son’s birthday is in early December and I’ve always made a point of celebrating it before any reference to Christmas enters the house, usually for a good week later. I also have a nephew who’s birthday is on the 28th Dec and again have always bought him two seperate gifts for the two seperate occasions, never one big one. Happy belated birthday anyway!

    • bizemom says:

      I shouldn’t be such a martyr. Luckily I have several other famuly members who share in the December birthday curse so they were respectful of the sensitivity. 🙂

  3. abbesroad says:

    I can relate, for different seasonal reasons. My birthday is at the end of August so it usually fell in the gap between summer camp and school – no kid’s land. And I often got back-to-school clothes disguised as birthday gifts. The timing for that was just right.

  4. Just the other week I blogged about a friend whose birthday falls on the Thanksgiving cusp and thus always fell into the holiday void. I also know others whose birthdays are (1) the week before Christmas and (2) New Year’s Eve and (3) New Year’s Day. Screwed, each and every one!

  5. james says:

    I guess I am lucky mine is in May!

Leave a Reply

