The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 11 “The Art of Wrapping”


Normally, I hate wrapping presents.  I have never been good at it because I don’t have the patience. When my mom first taught me how to wrap gifts, she showed me two ways to fold the corners, stressed the importance of a precise crease and always made sure that the designs in the paper lined up before taping. 

Who’s got the time for that?!

I am lucky to find a few leftover holiday gift bags from last year that are in good enough condition to reuse again this year.  Scrape up some halfway decent tissue paper as a topper and …voila! The wrapping is done.

I have said on many occasions that I wish I could find a freelance gift wrapper.  Really, I think this could be a lucrative business for someone with the gift wrapping skills I don’t possess.  I just can’t seem to find one. 

This year, I tried to approach the daunting task of present wrapping with a more positive attitude.  After all, I have children to think of now and it would be selfish of me to shirk my parental wrapping duties.  With that in mind, I thought I could get into the spirit more if I bought some fun, unique wrapping paper designs to get me in the mood.

I found several rolls of paper that I loved.  Believe it or not, I got them at Target for a reasonable price too!

I must say that I got a little giddy this year in anticipation of testing out the new paper.  I little part of me figured whatever I lacked in quality could somehow be made up for in creativity.

Once I unrolled the paper, I was even more pleased to see that there were grid lines printed on the inside of the paper – my mother would be so proud of the straight scissor cutting I was able to accomplish with the help of those guides.

I locked myself in our guest room for about three hours straight and wrapped all the gifts to the family, our kids and even for the school teachers. Some people still got bags, well, because it was just easier.  But the fun wrapping paper I bought did seem to make the overall experience more positive.  I may even do it again next year.

Here are some of my favorite designs:

For the hipster, young professional or teen…

The retro wrap

For the contemporary or masculine…

The black wrap

For the little girl…

The pink wrap

The baby boy wrap…

The character wrap

And finally, where all the magic happens, my wrapping room (a.k.a. Hell)

Wrapping room hell

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Christmas, Family, Holidays, Humor, Moms, Parenting, Products, Raising children, Santa, Tips, Tween and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 11 “The Art of Wrapping”

  1. My gift-wrapping skills are excellent. But I must warn you, my wrapping’s unconventional and artistic and thus wasted on anyone but the appreciative adult. Too bad you don’t live in Japan; their wrapping skills are extraordinary for even the most banal of packages.

  2. bizemom says:

    I am sure I would shame my family

Leave a Reply

