The Twelve Days of Anecdotes – Day 10 “Death of a Tree” (Sung to O Christmas Tree)


The Death of a Tree was written in memory of my deceased, formerly beautiful Christmas tree and is to be sung to the tune of O Christmas Tree.

Sad sorry tree

 

Play Music!

O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
Thy leaves are disappearing;
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
Thy leaves are dry & browning;
You were so green three weeks ago,
But now your boughs are hanging low.
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
I’m sorry you are dying!

O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
Much pleasure you have given me;
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
It’s very hard to part with thee;
Your stand is full, O Christmas tree
Of water you can’t drink from me!
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
I’m sorry you are dying.

O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
The ornaments are falling!
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
Your grave is slowly calling!
You’re hardly standing upright,
You barely hold up all the lights.
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
You’re really such a sad sight!

O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
How swiftly you have left me!
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
How droopy you now hang for me!
Thou bidst adieu and gone are thee,
Hold out one weekend, won’t you please?
O Christmas Tree! O Christmas Tree!
Your death has come too early!


 

Sad, fallen ornaments

 

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Christmas, Family, Holidays, Humor, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Twelve Days of Anecdotes – Day 10 “Death of a Tree” (Sung to O Christmas Tree)

  1. I like that. Not the dying tree. The lyrics, I mean.

  2. Lynnie says:

    What happened??? LOL Sorry, but this tree DOES make me feel better about mine!

  3. bizemom says:

    I think it died early because after our tree had fallen in the middle of the night it went 2 days without being refilled with water. Woops… (read this post to catch up on that part of the story http://bize-mom.com/2010/12/06/the-12-days-of-anecdotes-%e2%80%93-day-5-%e2%80%9cif-a-tree-falls-in-the-living-room-when-no-one%e2%80%99s-around-does-it-make-a-sound%e2%80%9d/)

Leave a Reply

