The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 8 “Things That Go Squeak in the Night”


If you’re like me, no matter how much you clean it seems there are always toys scattered in random places. Puzzles on the mantle. Baby dolls in the bathroom. Balls in the bed (wait—ha ha—I just made a joke and didn’t realize it. No pun intended.)

You get the idea.

When you have toddlers, and a house without a basement, the toys end up everywhere except in the toy box. The inconvenience of having toys under foot goes from annoying (in the daytime) to hazardous (in the middle of the night.) And, let’s not forget the pain of having the corner of a wooden block jab into the arch of your foot.

Yesterday alone, I bumped into a Lego tower in the family room, tripped over a stuffed monkey in the kitchen and slid on a banana peel in the hall (it was the wooden “cut your own fruit” kind by Melissa and Doug.) At the end of the evening, I went around the house picking up these random odds and ends off the floor (as I always do) and toss them in any storage cube or toy box I can find, shut off the TV, the lights, and then head upstairs to bed.

But last night, when I turned off the TV there was a sound.

Ribbit. Ribbit.

I turned on the TV again.  No sound.

I turned off the light.

Squeak. Squeak.

I turned on the light. No sound.

I looked around the room for whatever thing could be making that sound, but didn’t see it anywhere. I lifted up the cushions and pillows on the couch but there was nothing there making a sound.

I turned off the lights and TV again.  I flicked them on an off. 

Ribbit. Squeak. Ribbit. Squeak. Ribbit. Ribbit. Squeak. Squeak.

This was really getting weird and I was starting to think that a ghost was playing a practical joke on me.

“Dad, is that you?”  I thought.

Then I saw the source of the haunting sounds was peering out from behind the TV console.  The culprit was a puzzle. The puzzle was wooden board puzzle with animal shapes. When you lift the peg of the puzzle piece it reveals the sound of that animal. (Again, it is made by Melissa and Doug, but I am not pointing any fingers.)

Our puzzle was missing two pieces: the frog and the mouse.

I still can’t explain why but as soon as I returned the puzzle pieces to their rightful place and turned off the electronics again, the sounds were gone. It must have been something reacting with the battery and our electrical outlets. Odd nonetheless.

Now if I could only get than darn baby doll wrapped underneath the Christmas tree to stop cooing in the middle of the night, I would be a little closer to sane.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Christmas, Dads, Family, Hobbies, Holidays, Humor, Lost Toys, Marriage, Moms, Parenting, Raising children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

