The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 5 “If a Tree Falls in the Living Room When No One’s Around, Does It Make a Sound?”


A christmas tree.

Image via Wikipedia

The answer is “Yes.” Hopefully, I haven’t ruined this post by giving away the punch line. However, I happen to know for a fact that the tree makes a sound because I heard it.  It woke me up from my slumber at about Midnight.  Here’s the order of the events…in reverse chronology. Pretend you are watching this as a movie on rewind…

12 Midnight – Crashing noise coming from downstairs woke me up.  I heard glass breaking and thought it was a prowler. I ran downstairs.

10 p.m. – My husband and I were sitting in the dark of our living room enjoying a bottle of Pinot Noir. We sat admiring the beauty of the tiny multi-colored lights and recalled the stories surrounded each and every family ornaments adorning the most perfectly symmetrical Spruce tree that ever lived.

6 to 9 p.m. – We decorated that damn tree.

3 to 5 p.m. – We took my mom home and helped her get her tree set up. We ate dinner.

12 Noon to 2 p.m. – We suited up the in our coats, hats and gloves to take part in a 34- year family tradition of cutting down our Christmas Tree at Country Pines Tree Farm in New Lebanon, Ohio.

It was me, my husband, the two kids and grandma (my mom) who trudged through the forest like a scene out National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. The only difference was that my daughter’s eyes didn’t freeze and the tree was a bit smaller.

7 to 11 a.m. – I got the family awake, fed, dressed and revved up for the big annual Christmas tree cutting.  Yay!!!

The day was long.  It all centered around the finding, cutting, setting up, and decorating of our tree.

The last time I would see that tree standing, it was beautiful. I was buzzed and tired.

12: 02 a.m. – The next time I saw that tree it was on its side, water pouring out of the base of the tree stand and pooling into our crème colored carpet. Glass balls had shattered and some of my irreplaceable ornaments – like the one I got when I lived in Prague and the 50-year-old antique from my Grandpa – were in little pieces.

We ran to grab bath towels and began sopping up the water all around (gingerly avoiding a step in the many shards of glass.)

That was it. My husband and I have agreed to disagree about what led up to the ultimate demise of our perfect tree. All we can conclude is that little by little, millimeter by millimeter our Christmas tree leaned ever-so-slightly forward until after two hours it toppled over.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Christmas, Cleaning, Family, Holidays, Humor, Marriage, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

