The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 4 “Two Trees or Not Two Trees? That is the Question.”


The other day I was explaining to a coworker that I had two Christmas trees. I have my family tree which has the sentimental mishmash of ornaments from places we’ve traveled, from friends as gifts, or from holiday craft attempts.  It’s real, it’s colorful and it’s a hodge-podge of stuff.

I also have my designer tree. The designer tree has only been up for two years and sort of happened by accident, really. On Thanksgiving of 2009, my aunt brought a bunch of old decorations to my house because she was giving them away. She also had a fake tree.  She told me that she was getting too old to put a Christmas tree up every year and asked me if I would want it.

Since she was just going to get rid of it anyhow, I agreed.  Coincidentally, I had just flipped through a Pottery Barn catalog and saw a really cute designer tree idea.  It was all natural looking with pinecones, silver cookie cutter accents, and little woodland creatures made from Mango wood. Underneath were neutral toned gift boxes wrapped with raffia – very simple in an effortless looking way.

This project was soooo not-effortless!

The woodland creatures...cute aren't they?

Not only are the ornaments crazy expensive, but I also needed a sizeable quantity of them to really make the tree look rich and abundant. The first two orders of ornaments I placed left my designer tree looking sparse. A few weeks later, I went to the Pottery Barn store to buy more ornaments.  After adding those, it looked much better.  Unfortunately, they were sold out of some of the adorable little critters. I went to places like Hobby Lobby, Michael’s, and other craft stores but struck out.  Nothing compared to the ornaments I saw in the picture of the Pottery Barn catalog. I resigned myself to the fact that I may have to build up my ornament collection over the next couple of years.

I digress. As I am explaining to my coworker that I have two trees, he asks “What kind of tree is your designer tree?”

“A Woodland Creatures tree,” I said, realizing that it sounded incredibly dorky.   I had never really heard myself say those words before, but it was dumb and I was embarrassed.  I couldn’t keep from laughing.

Luckily, to make me feel better, he shared that his wife also had a second tree.

“Really, what kind of tree?” I asked.

“A Precious Moments tree.” He responded.

Precious Moments ornaments

Okay, so maybe I am not the only one who has two trees.  Maybe there are worse things to have than a Woodland Creatures tree.

Does anyone else share in the multi-tree tradition?

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Blogs, Dads, Family, Girlfriends, Hobbies, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 4 “Two Trees or Not Two Trees? That is the Question.”

  1. karen says:

    I know lots of people with two trees. Most are one tree on the main floor, one in the finished basement. I myself opt for just the designer tree (also pottery barn inspired). I only allow gold and cream ornaments on my tree.

  2. Kim Pugliano says:

    Oooooh I want one I want one!! Damn it’s hard being Jewish. I only get one tree, candelabra, 8 nights, 1 day and a man in a suit who STILL gets credit for the cool gifts my 11-year-old opens. I really really want a designer tree.

Leave a Reply

