If You Can Wrap Your Leg Around Your Head Buy Suave!


We’ve heard fashion magazines, celebrities and advertising all contribute to unrealistic self body image in young women. However, I love fashion magazines, keep up with all the latest celebrity gossip and work in the field of marketing and advertising. In theory, I should be the LAST person to discredit any of those interests. But today, an ad in Redbook stopped me in my tracks.  Actually my friend Ally, who was reading the magazine while sitting next to me, held up an advertisement and asked me what she was looking at.

The ad in question

“What is this?” she asked.

“What do you mean? I said looking at what clearly was an ad for Suave.

“I mean this lady.  What is she holding?” Ally pointed to the picture.

I looked carefully.

“ I think she’s holding her leg,” I responded.  “Like this…” I got up to demonstrate.

Demonstration photo my friend took of me

“That can’t be her leg,” said Ally looking at ad again. “Her knee is all the way up to her collar bone. Not only that but she has no butt where her hip would connect to that leg she’s holding.  It’s like a prosthetic leg.”

The leg was rather thin and her torso was so long.  It looked as if she was standing but holding a leg that didn’t belong to her.  It reminded me of when I was little. I’d try to do really flexible things with my Barbie dolls. Ultimately, their leg would snap off, my mom would duct tape it back on and then they’d literally have the ability to bend in half like a contortionist.

“Maybe it’s a shoulder of someone,” I suggested. “Or, could it be a man across from her wrapping his leg around her abdomen?” I wondered if it was intended to be sort of sexual.

“The leg doesn’t have hair like a man’s would.” Ally added, “Someone at this ad agency made a mistake.  They retouched the ass and hips right off this women.”

“They may have even elongated her torso,” I agreed. “It continues all the way down the page!”

Photoshop removed butt and hips. Leg comes out of nowhere.

Then, a friend of ours entered the room.  We asked her to take a look at the ad.

“She’s holding someone,” said our other friend.

Ally and I began laughing. “Holding someone?!”  What did that mean?

“Like her son…I don’t know,” our friend said sarcastically.

We decided to put this ad to the test.  It was sort of a Myth Busters type of exercise—literally. I’m 5 foot 6 inches tall, about 125-28 lbs (depending on what I ate that day) and pretty flexible. So, I volunteered to replicate the pose—just to see if it was feasible without PhotoShop’s help. Ally took my picture. See for yourself.  We played with different angles. You decide.  Then look at the Suave ad again.

I think Suave and Redbook have gone beyond giving women an unrealistic body image in this ad but also an impossible one.  Only a freak of nature could achieve this pose.  Ironically, the product featured is Suave’s lotion line called “Naturals.”

 I’d urge them to find a more natural, untouched photo of this model and revamp their ad.

I’ve taken the liberty of making the Suave ad more true to life. You’re welcome Redbook.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Advertising, Beauty, Family, Girlfriends, Humor, Moms, Parenting, Products and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If You Can Wrap Your Leg Around Your Head Buy Suave!

  1. Kim Pugliano says:

    How is it possible to be completely creeped out while still laughing hysterically? I’m on my way out of the door right now, headed for Walgreen’s. I need to see this and share it with my friends.

    And by the way, you didn’t even notice that she has no pubic hair. Maybe she’s naked and carrying her child around but we can’t see it because the other page was cut out of the magazine. I like your pose way better.

  2. Gretchen says:

    The only thing that ad does for me is it makes me want a fruit salad for lunch and run to Bath and Body works for the real thing…

  3. This post is AWESOME! I am sooo stinkin’ glad that I clicked on your link today! You’ve just earned a new follower, missy! 🙂
    Now I’m off to practice this pose for myself…
    -Autumn B.

  4. Jill says:

    Shoot, when I first looked at it….I thought she was holding her boobie….and thought how strange it looks like it is an accordian boobie (like it is popping out of a jack-in-the-box). As I look closer I can see it is a leg, but it does takes photo shop/crop to a new place, creating an image that is impossible to achieve…..I would like to take photo shop to a whole new “better” place just for me. I want to have photo shop capabilities in my every day life…meaning, as as you are talking to me….and seeing me…..photoshop steps in and creates a whole new image. I would look younger, taller, smaller, etc. etc. Can someone invent that please?

  5. Pingback: Revealing Photo Surfaces…Suave Model Has Hips! | Biz e-Mom.com

Leave a Reply

