What to Wear


German garden gnome

Image via Wikipedia

With Halloween soon approaching it’s time that I got the kids’ costume situation figured out. This year marks the first Halloween that Biz e-Baby1 has had an opinion as to what she’d like to wear. While, I am glad she is growing into her own, gone are the days when I could just buy whatever I think would look cute on my children. When you have two little ones, I think it’s so adorable to have them match. For instance, last year Biz e-Baby1 was a Monkey (still my idea) and Biz e-Baby2 was a banana.

This year, I looked at matching garden gnome costumes — which were hilarious. I also looked at crayons, but with only two colors it’s not as cool. I’d need to be Octo-mom or Kate Gosslin to really do Crayola some justice.

So one night, I thought I’d casually ask Biz e-Baby1 what she’d like to be just to see what I could talk her into. Much to my surprise it wasn’t that easy. She had her own idea. My daughter wanted to be Pocahontas; of this she was certain. No matter how much I tried to convince her that we already had both Ariel and Snow White costumes that she could wear, she wasn’t interested.

The next thought that crossed my mind was: “Now, do I buy it or make it myself?” Afterall, she is three and not going to be wearing the thing for more than an hour. But then again, I am a busy mom and my time is worth money.  I bought a costume. (For a nanosecond, I considered making the thing out of car shammies to replicate a leather dress, and I could have added beads and stuff but who has the time?)

Once that bridge had been crossed, I then had to figure out what Biz e-Baby2 would wear. I wanted it to match. Thankfully, an 18-month-old would still go with the flow.  Next year, I may not be so lucky.  What could match an Indian princess? I know…a cowboy! All I needed to do was get my little buckaroo some tiny little cowboy boots and a half-pint hat.  The jeans and shirt could be rounded up from his closet.  Perfect — even if not PC. But it’s not like they’ll be trading treats for whiskey or weapons, so it’s all in good fun.

I am relieved that the plan came together fairly quickly.  I only have a few accessories left to buy to make the costumes complete. Now that we’ve got a Wild West theme going, my husband and I may even be able to get in on the action. I’m thinking we could turn our double stroller into a stage coach, dress our two Yorkshire Terriers like horses and really go all out!

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family, Halloween, Holidays, Humor, Raising children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

