Men Who Lack Adult Supervision


Today I got an email from a friend titled “Men who lack adult supervision.” What followed was a series of funny, yet ridiculous pictures of problems solved by men. One was a picture of a guy sitting on a riding lawn mower which was dangling from a forklift to trim the treetops, one was a guy using a drill as a kitchen mixer—that kind of stuff.

It inspired me for my blog topic tonight because just this morning, I had a situation with my husband’s problem solving skills. The issue was they sucked.

Biz e-Dad got our daughter dressed for school this morning. When we arrived in her classroom, I took off her sweater, hung it under her cubby basket and started to get her settled to have her breakfast at the table. Then, I noticed her shirt was on backwards. Sigh. This actually wasn’t the first time this has happened. Previously, I’ve told him that just because a shirt has a little button or two on it doesn’t automatically mean the buttons go in the front. I’ve also explained the best way to know which side is the back is by looking for the tag. Why is that so confusing?

I took my daughter into the school bathroom to turn the shirt around. While in there, I asked if she had to go potty. She said, “yes.” Just as I started to pull down her pants, I noticed that the elastic in her left leg was really tight. Then, I noticed the whole thing looked askew. What the heck? Biz e-Dad had put her underpants on sideways! Her right leg was stuck through the waist—don’t ask me how. Not to mention that one of the sides was ripped. I asked him if he tried stretching it out or something. He didn’t remember. How does one not notice that? In the end, I had to totally undress her and redress her—I was late to work because of it.

Two nights ago, my husband put our son to bed and when I woke him in his crib the next morning, I was shocked to see he still had sneakers on! All night my baby slept with shoes.

There have been some other occasions around our house where male problem solving has sparked some “spirited conversation” between me and my husband.

For instance:
1.) Don’t use my $50 face cream all over your body. It’s not THAT kind of moisturizer.
2.) Kitchen scissors should not be used on any body hair—especially not for manscaping (down there)
3.) Don’t open UPS packages with good cutlery
4.) My razor is not meant to shave calluses off your feet

You get the picture.

My husband is good dad. Thought process of men just baffles me sometimes. I realize I sound like a boy basher (Don’t get me wrong, men; I am still a big fan.) But, some crazy stuff goes down when we women aren’t around. (Men in background whisper, “Yeah, like fun.”)

These images are from the email my friend sent me earlier. All I can say is I hope none of these guys are somebody’s dad. Left to their own devices, these dudes came up with some pretty hair-brained ideas.

Talk about lack of supervision.

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Dads, Family, Humor, Men, Parenting, Raising children. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Men Who Lack Adult Supervision

  1. Tom Copeland says:

    Ha, this is hitting pretty close to home girl… and buttons do go in the front from what I’ve lived through. Love your blogs Rich, funny stuff but got that truth thing goin… hope you guys are doing well. T

  2. I got the same email, though without the last batch and who’s “steering” the car anyhow? The diaper scenario is too funny and while very often I’m on the side of men, I gotta agree with your 1-4 list! Confess that I’m guilty of opening packages with cutlery but since it’s crap from the Goodwill, I can only hope that slicing tape and cardboard might actually sharpen the knife’s edges.

Leave a Reply

