Old McDonald Had Some Fries


Micky D's

Image by Keegan Jones via Flickr

 

I don’t often take my kids for fast food. But a handful of times I admit–when I just haven’t had energy to cook–we’ve hit McDonald’s drive-thru.  

Last week, the Biz e-Babies and I made a stop at the “golden arches” after I’d picked them up from daycare. My daughter really only wanted the toy that came out of the Happy Meal Box. She could’ve cared less about the meal. (She’s a picky eater and if I am lucky, will get her to eat some part of a hamburger bun and fries.) I caved and decided to hit Micky D’s mostly because of laziness.  

Instead of taking our meals home with us, Biz e-Baby1 convinced me to dine in.  I am usually not swayed by a three-year-old, but the appeal of not having a mess to clean up at home was the driving factor behind this whole adventure. We pulled into the parking lot. I got both children out of their car seats and carried Biz e-Baby2 while holding Biz e-Baby1’s hand as we walked from the parking lot into the restaurant.  

Getting settled inside all by myself was a bit of an ordeal (Biz e-Dad was working) but I figured once I got them strapped in the high chairs, I would have more control. Until then, we stood in line.  One child on my hip and the other pulling on my hand, begging for me to hold her too. The young pimple-faced, teen who took our order wasn’t a whiz at the cash register and kept hitting wrong buttons.  That then required his manager to have to step in, void out the mistake, and start over.  My luck I got the guy in training.  We finally got our tray of food and looked for a table. I picked one in the back.  In case my kids tried to make a break for it, they wouldn’t be too close to the door. (Did I mention I am still wearing my work clothes and three-inch heels while doing this? )  

The high chairs were sticky and one had no straps.  Baby 2 is a wiggle worm so I put him in the one with the belt still intact. I wiped the table down with a baby wipe I had in purse and laid two napkins in front of the kids like little place mats.  That way, if food hit the table it wouldn’t be too germy. We finally got to the business of eating—if you could call it that.  

After sucking the salt off a few soggy French fries my Biz e-Bbay1 told me she was done and broke into song, like we were straight out of an episode of Glee. She was singing, “Old McDonalds had a farm…ee-eye-ee-eye—oh.”  

I asked her why she was singing.  She explained to me because we were at Old McDonald’s house. I didn’t bother to explain to her that it’s actually Ronald McDonald’s place. That would’ve have complicated the issue.  What’s the harm, for now, in allowing her to believe that everyone with the last name McDonald is related to the farmer?  

Biz e-Baby2 joined in for a duet with a little talent of his own.  (He has this uncanny ability to imitate a pig snorting.)  You’d think a baby would say, “oink.” Instead, he does this weird thing with his mouth closed and lips pressed together while sucking air in the back of the throat.  I have no idea who taught him that but it sounds very realistic. It’s also pretty funny.  

So, there we sat in our sticky seats, licking fries, singing and snorting. Not the model family, but I am sure McDonald’s has seen much worse than the likes of us. Though next time, the drive-thru may be the better option for all involved.  

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Parenting, Raising children and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

