We Got a Bleeder


Rock Climbing in Dali

Hopefully not my kid in 20 years (courtesy Wikipedia)

 

Today was a perfect Sunday for getting things done.  The weather was cool and crisp.  It was the ideal opportunity to get out in the yard (I mean my husband) and take care of the leaves. Since our yard is fenced, the kids could run around out there with him while I got some things tidied up in the house. Note: The cleaning lady is coming tomorrow and everyone straightens up before that. Well, I do. You can’t look like a total slob when a perfect stranger comes in to clean up all your dust bunnies and crap. But, I digress. 

Our Biz e-Babies are only 18 months apart in age and it’s becoming fun to watch them play and communicate with each other. Biz e-Baby2, our son, is in the 90th growth percentile while Biz e-Baby1 is only in the 30th percentile so they are almost the same height and weight. Although, our son is not as advanced with his motor skills, he pushes everything to the limit. I am not sure if it is the second child syndrome or if it’s the boy in him—or both—but this kid is always trying to do what his big sister does and is a real risk taker.  He is fearless.  

Biz e-Baby2 crawls to the top of our slide and goes down on his stomach. He scales the lawn furniture like a rock climbing wall. He tries to ride her bike even though his feet don’t touch the pedals. The child is strong too! He tries to pull a wagon uphill that is the same weight as him. He runs to catch up with his big sister and doesn’t care that every 60 seconds he trips over a walnut.  He gets back up and does it again. We really have to supervise him because he is a dangerous combination of daredevil and innocence all rolled into one. Unfortunately, while on my watch, he took a spill today while running on the sidewalk and busted his lip.  I think he only bit it, but there was a decent amount of blood.  That always freaks me out. I applied a cold wash cloth on it (for which he held still for only about 6 seconds). He now has a fat lip. 

Before my kids were born, my husband and I took an infant care and safety course from the hospital.  It was enough to scare the daylights out of me.  Who knew there were so many dangerous, life-threatening objects in one home? After that class, I made it my mission to safe-tify (is that a word?) our house. Inside the home, I have gates blocking the staircase because biz e-Baby2 loves to tempt fate by going down forward instead of sliding down backward on his tummy (my preferred way.) I have baby-proofed all the cabinets because he has a curious streak and fingers always end up getting pinched somehow. All our furniture has been swapped out from sleek, well-designed contemporary pieces to soft, mushy, rounded-corner functional pieces.  The cords of our blinds have been neatly tucked away so as not to dangle and become a strangulation hazard. I only ever crack the windows four-or-fewer inches so that our babies can’t push the screens out of the windows and fall two stories to their death. (Did you know that is a very common cause of child death? Neither did I—until that class.) 

Am I neurotic?  Yes.  There’s not much more I could do in the way of danger prevention honestly, but he still gets hurt. 

This evening while I was putting the dishes away and my husband was taking out the trash; my kids played in the family room.  All of the sudden, I heard this blood-curdling scream.  When I went to see what had happened, I noticed my son’s right nostril was streaming blood.  I looked around in an instant to try to assess the situation. What could’ve happened? Nothing was knocked over or broken.  My son was sitting in his little TV chair sobbing and bleeding.  It was clear he hadn’t been rough housing this time. Then, I saw my daughter with a wand in her hand standing off to the side. The wand was made of a long plastic stick with a foam purple glitter star on the tip. She looked scared. 

I scooped up my son immediately and got the previously bloodied cold washcloth again to apply on his nose.  It looked pretty bad and he was definitely in pain

My husband came into the house at that time and tried to ask my daughter what had happened, although I thought I already knew. I don’t know exactly how, but what I believe is that she stuck the stick from the wand up his nose; or rammed it up there.  Yeah, painful. She wasn’t going to fess up anytime soon but the investigation is still ongoing. 

The poor little guy was really hurt and I contemplated if it was serious enough to take him to Urgent Care. We didn’t.  The bleeding stopped and we kept an eye on him for a while.  He went to bed shortly thereafter exhausted from the day. 

It got me thinking after it all went down. How can I do a better job at preventing things like this?  I can’t possibly keep my eye on them 24/7. I have safety-proofed the sh*t out of this place and stuff still happens.  Can I make him a bubble boy? My daughter was not an envelope-pusher at his age,  nor a risk taker. She wasn’t even the slightest bit curious about the poisonous contents of our cabinets. This is my first time down this road. I am a fairly new mom (only three years on my resume) and I am not sure I can handle all this bleeding.  What will I do when he plays football and gets injured –or God-forbid—breaks a bone?  I’ll lose it!
Is this just part of being a mother to a boy, or a mother in general? How do you know when it’s serious and when it’s not?  I have so much to learn. 

For now, my goal is to keep the bleeding limited to once a day.  I am open to suggestions. 

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Baby-Proofing, Cleaning, Family, Humor, Parenting, Raising children, Safety and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

