To Flush or Not to Flush? That is the Question.


The Aftermath

 

They say some traits are hereditary.  For instance, both my children have blue eyes like mine. Fortunately, they both got my husband’s nose. Physical qualities like that are always amazing to see in your children. However,  it never fails that they also inherit something that you wish you could have spared them from. Biz e-Baby1 will be disappointed that she got the meaty Biz e-Mom knees, for example.  Biz e-Baby2 will be disappointed that he got the crooked Biz e-Dad toes.  Nonetheless, those little distinctions make us who we are.  

Sometimes, you hear about talents that children in the family have been born with and resemble other members of the family. Relatives will say, “Little Susie has a beautiful singing voice just like her grandma.” Or, “Little Joey is going to be a basketball player just like his uncle!”  That is the case with my daughter, except she seems to have inherited my father’s knack for plumbing. It’s obvious she comes from a three-generation line of plumbers because every chance she gets to clog up the toilet she seizes the opportunity.  Biz e-Baby1 relishes in plunging the bowl!  

We first noticed my daughter’s plunging talents when she began potty training about 5 months ago. Like all kids, she found the simple act of rolling the paper off the toilet roll fascinating. I, in turn, would remind her not to use too much and explain toilet paper isn’t a toy.  That worked for a while. Until one day, she witnessed her father in the act of plunging the downstairs bathroom he had just visited. From there, she was hooked! I have found her on multiple occasions since then taking to the plunger on her own—even when the situation didn’t require it.  

I now know that when it becomes suspiciously quiet in the bathroom that the statistical likelihood of her plunging is 85 percent.  When it’s time to go potty, she usually tells me, “I need privacy,” and shuts the door. Fifteen percent of the time, she does her business and comes out like a professional. But, sometimes the fun of plunging is just too much to resist and she begins stuffing the toilet full of as much paper as she can get off the roll, hence clogging up the pot.  

I am speculating about the order of events because I have never actually caught her in the act of clogging the toilet with paper. I assume that after she realizes her paper usage has gone too far, she then tries to mend the error of her ways. It’s probably about that time that I hear silence and make a direct line to the bathroom. I always arrive too late.  

Last night, we had two bathroom events in a three-hour period while I was writing my blog.  I walked into the bathroom and found a scene (as pictured in this post.) To flush or not to flush?  That was the question I asked myself.  It appeared that, in this case, I could flush in two consecutive rounds and solve the dilemma without having to get my hands dirty.  It worked.  

The second time the toilet clogged, there was much more paper.  I caught Biz e-Baby1 in the midst of her favorite pastime and she was startled. (I may have raised my voice a little because I had JUST cleaned up clog number one an hour ago.) After a moment, I quickly calmed down and tried to keep from laughing.  Instead, I grabbed my camera and decided this would make a good topic for a blog.  

My plumber dad, who is deceased, would roll over in his grave if he saw the clogging chaos that happens at our house. As a youngster, I was brought up having a great respect for the toilets and the pipes that ran through our house.  There is the “plumbers way” and there is “everyone else’s way” when it comes to the things you put down your sinks, drains and toilets. (You plumber-families know what I am talking about.)  

For example, you NEVER put chemicals like Draino or Liquid Plumber down your systems.  It corrodes the metal. You certainly never flush down as much toilet paper as my child stuffs in the commode.  But, non-plumber people (and Biz e-Baby1) do those things, and that’s why plumbers make a great living.  

I try to impart the knowledge my dad handed down to me when my family violates plumbing etiquette but they just don’t heed my warnings.  If my dad were alive today, I don’t think we’d be flushing the paper, Q-tips, toys and other objects down the toilet like we do because we’d know he’d be the one to have to come fix it.  For that, there’d be hell to pay. However, he would be proud to know that his granddaughter could’ve taken over the family business.  

About bizemom

I am a busy working mom (get it... "Biz e-Mom"?) of three kids under the age of four. I have a white-collar day job, I have a night job as a mom, and an "in between" job as a freelance writer and blogger. What can I say, I am a glutton for punishment and I don't go to bed until 1 a.m. No matter how much I complain, I like being busy. That must be the Sagitarius in me--we get bored easily. Now on to the next adventure (I mean... venture!)
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Potty Training, Raising children, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Flush or Not to Flush? That is the Question.

  1. Abbe says:

    Piecing together the scene of the crime….a plunger, stuffed-up toilet, magazine on the floor, potty seat strewn about….maybe she was covering for her daddy?! Regardless, I love how cute little girl behavior brings back fond memories of childhood.

Leave a Reply

